Tags

, , , , , , ,

If you’re in a fandom, you’ve probably read it at some point… and if you’re particularly daring, then you’ve written it, too! I have my own fanfic that I started writing in August of 2013… Long time ago, right? Well, it was a continuing series, but for the longest time, I couldn’t finish Book 1!! So, when I finally finished in the beginning of February, this year, I had a difficult time realizing that now it was time to edit… So, I started using all these things from Pinterest saying how to proofread and revise and edit, which are basically the same thing… but whatever.

So, I look at my work and see every single mistake and everything that’s diverted me from my purpose, which is excruciatingly embarrassing, as I come to realize that I had posted it on Wattpad where anyone could read it!! And yet, at the present moment, it has 3.2K reads and 101 votes… We’ll call it dumb luck, how about that?

It’s a Percy Jackson/Kane Chronicles/Gallagher Girls mess, and everything just sort of flowed into existence. It all started when my friend introduced me to fandoms. She then showed me her fan fiction, and the after that, I decided I could do it. I could write my own. For a while, everything was rolling, but then, like the rock of inspiration got stuck in quicksand, I was stuck. I counted out seven months of no writing, whatsoever. Then, I got it back in August of last year, but I lost it again, soon after. In December, I was basically spewing out chapters, but then, all of January I couldn’t write even a single word. Now that it’s finished though, I feel as though nothing is in my way, except for this mountain of revision…. It’s bigger than it looked from 33 chapters away, to be honest…

Writing anything is such a journey, though, and besides a fan fiction, I have also recently accomplished writing a science fiction novel… which I am also editing… It’s no easier on an original story; if anything, it’s more difficult! I want to send it to a publisher, which means I’m going to be way overdoing the revising, and the journey keeps going after that. Rejection letters, rejection letters, not knowing if anyone will accept your book… At least with a fan fiction, you put it on a fan fiction site and ta-da, nothing else to it, keep on writing.

The journey of writing begins in the imagination, continues through the pages, the struggle is the writer’s block we all must face at some point, then we must climb a mountain of revision and row through river of rejection until finally we reach the destination of publication and even, perhaps, success.

To all my fellow authors out there, I hope your journey ends well, as I have the same high hopes for my own.

Happy first day of March, everyone.