Tags

, , , , , ,

I don’t know about you, but for me, school is officially over! It was a rough go those last few days, though, and I am spent. I slept until like ten yesterday, which is way later than usual, but I’m pretty sure my body needed that. Anyways, a day off from my socials was much needed, so this post is a day late, but I’m not too sorry. It was a bad day yesterday, I needed it for a break. And hey, that little anecdote takes us straight into the first thing:

Take care of yourself!

School is hella stressful, but you survived! It’s done now (at least until the fall). You need to take care of yourself, now. Sleep, eat, relax, do whatever it is that you need to do to recover. Find time for the things you couldn’t do during school, like reading, writing, watching anime, etc., and do those things. Treat yourself, because seriously, you deserve it.

For me, personally, that means sleeping in the first day or so, and then going back to waking up early so I can accomplish more in the days, but I’m just kind of nonstop that way lately. I like having posts like these written beforehand (but I haven’t quite reached having enough time for that yet).

Stay hydrated!

This is sort of obvious, since it’ll be hot and you’ll be sweating as well as your already existing need for water, but I still put it, because it’s so easy to forget to drink water. What I’m low key obsessed with right now is those infused waters you see on Pinterest in mason jars all the time. It’s such a fun way to drink water (because unless I’m dying in color guard, I really don’t have a thirst for plain old water), and also gives extra nutrients from whatever you’ve infused in it.

20170609_203159.jpg

Right now, my go-to is raspberry, lemon and/or lime juice, and mint. It’s refreshing, summery, and just tastes really good. Another good combination is strawberry, cucumber, and mint, though. Really, mint with anything in water is pretty good.

And of course, have fun.

Whether that means reading a book or going out with friends, take time to enjoy the summer. Seriously. It’s supposed to be fun, for whatever reason, so make it be fun.

But enough of me mom-ing, let’s talk about some things!

For example, music. This playlist, called We Say Summer, on 8tracks, and it was how I started off my summer last year (along with some power cleaning, which is how I unwind). It is so good. Just, oh my god. I love it. It’s a bit on the punk? alternative? emo? I don’t know. Genres with music are so weird, I’ve never been good at it. Still, I found so many good songs on the playlist, am still head over heels in love with most of them, so it’s definitely worth giving a listen. It sounds like summer and sunshine, though not necessarily having summery, sunny, happy themes. Does that makes sense? It just has summery vibes, and that makes me happy.

Can I just talk for a second about maybe my favorite fashion trend? It’s that whole, wearing something short (shorts, skirt, dress) but then a long, flowy cardigan over it, and then sandal wedges, with long jewelry, long curly hair, all that. I’m sort of obsessed with it, which says a lot, because I’m usually not all with fashion. Then again, maybe that’s not even this year, but oh well, because it’s basically going to be my look every day. I guess it’s kind of boho, but not quite? You know?

For more on my summer faves and aesthetics, check out my Summertime Board on Pinterest, because it’s pretty, it’s fun, and it’ll be growing for the next like, three months.

Finally, some goals.

Summer is the perfect time to get a grip on the things you want to be doing, because it’s when you have time, so guess what: it’s when I’m getting a grip on what I want to be doing. The first two days haven’t been flawless, but yesterday was rubbish, so I’m not sorry for that. Still, there are over two months ahead of us, and I want to get on a schedule.

I want to be planned so far in advance that I can’t fall behind. I want to be putting out consistent, good content on all of my socials. I want to learn how to manage this internet career thing successfully. I want to grow a community of people who can be friends and who I can be friends with and to have a corner on the internet no matter how small.

Um, yeah. That’s all. Sorry for the speech there at the end, but I’m oddly passionate. No, not oddly. Never be apologetic for loving what you want to do with your life, because it means you’re going to be happy (haha what’s a backspace key, I only know hopeless rambles).

See you Sunday.

~Liz